Karnataka Premier League

Bangalore: Success breeds imitation, and taking a leaf out of the Indian Premier League, the Karnataka State Cricket Association launched its own State-based version — the Karnataka Premier League, at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Friday.

The tournament’s inaugural edition, featuring Karnataka’s eight zonal teams, will be held at Bangalore from September 12 to 27. The KSCA will organise the tournament in association with the Frontiers Group India Pvt. Ltd., (FGI), a sports management firm.

The KSCA secretary Brijesh Patel termed the tournament an “opportunity for Karnataka’s talented cricketers to gain exposure and gain experience ahead of the domestic season” while KSCA president Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar termed the Twenty20 outing as a “critical platform for district level cricketers to progress to the next level.”

Charu Sharma of FGI said that the tournament is a scaled down version of the IPL and, expressed hopes of a good response from corporates, despite the recession, as “cricket is a solid property to own in India.”

FGI official and former cricketer Carlton Saldanha said it would be too early to make a public commitment on the amount of money that will be involved in the bidding process.

The player auction is slated for August 14 and the tournament is scheduled from September 12 to 27.

Teams and owners

Bangalore Urban

Brigade Enterprises Ltd.

Bangalore Rural

Mel Mont Constructions Pvt. Ltd.




Subhas Enterprises


Siresh Auto Pvt. Ltd.


Fizza Developers&Inter Trade Pvt. Ltd.


Vivid Kreation


Jayapakash Hegde K